Buy Direct From Author

Buy Now

Buy From These Vendors

AmazonB & NGoogle PlayApple BooksKobo

Tarnished Beginnings, Soul Dance Book One

Novella length, Tarnished Beginnings is shifter fantasy, but not a romance. The three other books in this series are full length romances.

Join Tairin as a young woman struggling to survive in 1700s Egypt. You’ll meet her again in Tarnished Legacy, book two of Soul Dance.

1700s Egypt is a melding pot for magic-wielders of all kinds. Vampires hold court, staying one step ahead of the priests and priestesses who want them dead. Gypsy caravans roam the Nile from north to south and back again telling fortunes, casting Tarot cards, and stealing from the gadjos.

Tairin Jabari was born in a caravan and has always believed she’s Romani. Why wouldn’t she? Her mother and father never suggested otherwise. The Rom have harsh rules. When Tairin’s first shift catches her unaware at thirteen, her father disappears, and the elders move with deadly speed to punish her mother for mating outside the blood.

Hurt, lost, confused, and fearing for her life, Tairin runs away, leaving her mother’s smoking funeral pyre behind.  Desperately unprepared for life outside her protected caravan, she and her wolf face hard choices.


  1. Tarnished Beginnings is the prequel to the Tarnished book series. This book introduces us to Tairin the Romani shifter who we follow throughout the series. This book gives valuable background information for a basis for the seies.

  2. This reads like a fascinating book! Set somewhere around the time of our fight for Independence in a land steeped in magic, with gypsies, vampires, priests and a shifter community as well! I really would like to read ad review all of these books I could get my hands on! I was fascinated by the Egyptian culture and history when I was in grade school and read everything I could find in the library about Egypt, it’s history and gods. It is still fascinating!

    • Thank you so much, Carolynn!

  3. I would like to read and review this book